My review of What You Want is in the Limo: On the Road with Led Zeppelin, Alice Cooper, and the Who in 1973, the Year the Sixties Died and the Modern Rock Star was Born

I won this book from a First Reads giveaway on Goodreads.com.

It’s pretty interesting.  The book focuses on three tours that took place in 1973 to support the big albums by The Who, Led Zeppelin, and Alice Cooper: Quadrophenia, Houses of the Holy, and Billion Dollar Babies.  The author gives a lot of insight into how tours were ran, how important marketing was, and how brutal the press can be, especially for Led Zeppelin whom Rolling Stone magazine always insulted.  In the later parts of the book, Walker did a great job showing the perils of excess. Some members of the bands (The Who’s Keith Moon, Alice Cooper’s Glen Buxton) weren’t even able to function by the end of their tours and the bands would need fill-ins or replacements.
  I was a bit surprised that there wasn’t more about the debauchery that supposedly followed these bands, but it mentioned a little bit about some hotel rooms getting trashed.  If you’re a fan of either of the three bands, or a fan of rock music in general, it’s an interesting book.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

