Review of Last Night at the Lobster by Stewart O’Nan

This was a good book, but it was sadder than I thought it would be.  I like that it takes place in Connecticut, which is where I’m from, because I knew the towns and the places that the author mentions.
  The book is about the last shift at a Red Lobster that has been closed down by corporate and it takes place during a blizzard.  The manager, Manny, is the main character and he feels guilty about a lot of things.  He has a baby on the way, he still has feelings for his ex (whom he works with), and he can only take five crew members with him to the Olive Garden.  He worries through out the book about whether or not he chose the right five.  He tries to keep the staff’s spirits up and wants everyone to act like it’ll be a normal day, even though they’ve barely had any customers and the ones they did have were difficult.
  Manny pretty much walks around in a nostalgic fog.  He remembers everything about his relationship with Jacqueline (a waitress) and little things that have happened during his years at the restaurant. Things just keep getting worse for him as the night goes on, but he tries to put on a brave face for the staff.  The end doesn’t really resolve much.  Manny just goes on with his life.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

