A review of Beltane (Pagan Spirits #1) by Erin O’Riordan & Tit Elingtin

I received this book for free through the First Reads program on Goodreads.  My copy is signed, which is nice. Unfortunately, this review is more negative than most of my other ones.
   It’s the story of Pagan twin sisters, Zen and Allie, and how their lives change over the course of a few years while focusing on a Beltane celebration that sets everything into motion.
   I really wanted to like this book, but I feel like it had some issues. The first one is the way it was formatted. Some of the paragraph breaks weren’t set up right and, due the the spacing, the last page of chapter 7 had two words on it. The other thing that bothered me was the way somethings used three sentences to say something that one sentence would’ve covered. Condensing is good sometimes.
   The characters were nice, but where they ended up was very predictable. I had the twists figured out and then had to wait a few chapters for them to happen. I don’t mind if things are a bit predictable, but things were just obvious here.
   I also didn’t like how much time jumps around. Some of it was ok, but in other parts of the book it was a little disorienting. One second it’s August and then it’s May of the next year. Maybe it’s just me. It’s odd that some of the other holidays aren’t mentioned much. I get that it’s about Beltane, but Samhain is mentioned in passing and Yule isn’t mentioned at all. I don’t think everyone eats meat on May Day either. I don’t.
   I did like Allie and Zen’s relationship. They seemed like great sisters and I liked how they were really there for each other. I really liked how accepting most of the characters were, especially Orlando. He’s Catholic, but was very respectful of the twins’ beliefs. I’m not saying that Catholics aren’t open-minded, but it seems like they can be portrayed as narrow minded in stories that deal with other religions. I feel like I really can’t go into much detail on anything without spoiling the book for others who might enjoy it.
  This isn’t something I would read again and I won’t be reading the rest of the series. I’d give this maybe 2/5.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

2 thoughts on “A review of Beltane (Pagan Spirits #1) by Erin O’Riordan & Tit Elingtin”

Leave a Reply

