Review of Countdown to Lockdown: A Hardcore Journal by Mick Foley

The book was good, but was a bit sadder and more serious than Foley’s previous books. Countdown to Lockdown: A Hardcore Journal chronicles the months leading up to Mick’s match against Sting at TNA’s Lockdown pay-per-view. He expresses all of his worries, fears and doubts leading up to the match. His acceptance of his diminished in-ring abilities is honest, yet sad.

He mixes in humor with serious subjects and the book switches between past and present. Past being his last year or so in the WWE and how he felt about his departure from the company. He also talks about his charity work, which made me like him even more. The fact that he takes the time to go to Sierra Leone and Mexico to visit children that he sponsors and to help build schools is really cool. Stateside, he meets with Make A Wish kids and volunteers for RAINN (Rape, Abuse and Incest National Network).  He had a chapter in the book called “Open Letter” that’s full of excellent advise for current or aspiring wrestlers.  It discusses the importance of having something to fall back on. In another chapter he gives his thoughts on steroid use in the business.

Reading about his various matches was neat because it was like re-watching the ones that I’ve seen.  I also like how he’s a fan of the Hardy Boyz and the Motor City Machine Guns, two of my favorite tag teams.

I’d recommend this for Foley’s fans and for anybody who has been a fan of professional wrestling in the past 20 years.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

