Review of A Field Guide to the Urban Hipster by Josh Aiello

I found this book at a thrift shop and thought it would be entertaining, which is was.  It’s a satirical book, but it’s pretty well researched. The author states in his Author’s Note that it’s a result of “several lonely months embroiled in online research.” It paid off.

The book describes different “Hipsters” that you might encounter in the world. They’re grouped into ten major categories and each one has at least two sub categories. Each description includes an illustration, where they can be found, and their clothing, mating and music habits.  Some of them are actually pretty accurate, even if they’re based on stereotypes.

I only gave the book 3 stars because I got kind of bored by the time I reached the ninth category.

If you like humor books or books about different types of people, you’d probably like it.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

