Review of Keeping You A Secret by Julie Anne Peters

Image

Keeping You A Secret is a coming of age/coming out story about a girl named Holland who has a lot on her plate. On top of a full class schedule she’s also student body president and a member of the swim team while working part time at a children’s center. She has two best friends, Leah and Kirstin and dates a nice guy named Seth.

Her home life is kind of a mess since her mom got remarried and she had to move her room to the cellar so her room could be a nursery.  She also has to share the cellar room with her new step-sister, Faith.  To make things even more stressful, her mom keeps pushing her to apply to college after college. She feels like she has no control over her life and refers to herself as “predictable.” Everything changes when she meets, and falls for, a girl named CeCe.

I liked seeing Holland become more aware of herself and her feelings and I think it was done very realistically.  Not everyone is thrilled about her decision and her life is turned upside down. I felt bad for her because of how cruel people can be. Having been through that myself, I know it’s not easy. In the end, she figures out who her real friends are and starts trying to make a future for herself.

This book made me feel so many emotions: happiness, sadness, disappointment, hope, sympathy, etc.  I would recommend it to anyone, especially high schoolers, who are dealing with coming out or who are already out and friends of glbtqi teens.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

