My Review of Mickey and Willie by Allen Barra

I received a copy of this book through the Blogging For Books program in exchange for an honest review.  Mickey and Willie is about Mickey Mantle and Willie Mays.  They were both baseball players in the 1950s.  The book shows how similar their lives were and chronicles their careers and friendship.  It started off a bit slow, but it picked up from there. At 425 pages, it’s a good sized book. It took me about two days to read.

It was interesting, even though I’m not really a baseball fan.  I like that Mickey and Willie were able to be friends despite the fact that the racial issues of the time could’ve prevented that.  Both of them were heroes to many, including my mom, but they had their flaws.  That part of the book was depressing.  I felt bad for both of them.  Mickey got death threats for not joining the Army, even though he wasn’t physically able to do so, and Willie had to deal with prejudice.

Barra compares their stats from then and now before discussing who he thinks was the better player.  I didn’t really have an opinion on that part.  As interesting as the book was to me, I think it would be much more interesting to actual baseball fans.  I would recommend this book to baseball fans everywhere.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

