Review of Born To Rock by Gordon Korman

Born to Rock is about a high school senior named Leo.  He lives in Connecticut, is a member of the Young Republicans, does campaign work for a local politician and will be attending Harvard. Well, he would’ve been attending Harvard if he hadn’t lost his scholarship.  Now his future is up in the air. He finds out that his real father is the singer in a famous punk band and decides that he has to meet him.

He ends up joining the band on their cross-country tour as a roadie and has a crazy summer.  I like the main character and he seems very genuine. He cares about his family, friends and the other people on the tour.  Even Cam, the head roadie, who tries to make his life a living hell.  I sort of like his friend Melinda, but she can be pretty bratty.  Owen is an ok character. He’s supposed to be “gifted”, but he does really dumb things sometimes.  I like that the author doesn’t make a big deal over the fact that he’s gay. I do like that this is from a guy’s point of view. 97% of YA books are from a girl’s pov.

There are quite a few secrets that are kept/revealed in this book.  Leo has a habit of hiding things from people to try to shield them.  It doesn’t seem to work very well for him. I saw one of the twists coming, but the other one was a little surprising. There is some romance towards the end of the book, but it’s very light.  I like that everyone ends up happy at the end of the book. It made me smile.

I’d recommend this to anyone who likes reading about rock n roll, punks and music with a little romance thrown in somewhere.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

