Review of The New Art of Capturing Love: The Essential Guide to Lesbian and Gay Wedding Photography by Kathryn Hamm & Thea Dodds

9780804185233

I received his book from Blogging For Books in exchange for a review. All opinions are my own.

The New Art of Capturing Love is a really nice book.  It explains how photo shoots for gay and lesbian couples need to be shot differently than ones for straight couples, some ways to make the couples comfortable and idea for photos. It also has a glossary of LGBTQ terms, which I liked.

The photos in the book are all really nice and were perfect examples for each of the things that the authors were demonstrating (lighting, height difference, poses, etc). Below each photo the authors have included what kind of camera they used and what the settings were. One of my favorite photos in the book is of the male couple walking while one carries a large rainbow umbrella. It’s a great photo!

I think this book is an excellent guide for professional and amateur photographers, whether their photographing weddings, couples or any other subject.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

