Review of The Secret Journal of Ichabod Crane by Alex Irvine

9780553418989

I received this book from Blogging For Books in exchange for an honest review.

I think this book is a great tie-in to the show.  I like the cover and really like the paper it was printed on. That might sound weird, but I’m ok with that. It’s a nice, soft, thin paper that seems like it could be old. It also has what looks like dirt and smudges on it.

The book recaps each episode of the first season from Ichabod’s point of view. I love all of the background information that I learned on each character and the locations.  A lot of research must’ve gone into this book.

The author did an excellent job at capturing Ichabod’s character and personality. His little lists and his observations of modern society/technology are funny. I like when he talks about watching television, using the internet and using a cell phone.

There’s a part in the book where he’s talking about love and I really liked what he said: <i> “True love consists not in possessing another, but in two minds, two hearts, meeting one another as equals, neither reaching to grasp yet both consenting to be held.” </i>

I would recommend this book to fans of the Sleepy Hollow tv show, which are apparently called “Sleepyheads.”

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

