Review of This Totally Bites! by Ruth Ames

I bought this book at a thrift shop solely based on the fact that it’s about vampires. I’m a sucker for vampire stuff, no pun intended. Thankfully, this was a good book. It’s from a series for “middle grade” readers, but it can be read by older readers without seeming too “young.”

The book’s main character is Emma-Rose Paley, a 7th grader from New York who likes dark, gloomy things. When her great aunt Margo visits from Romania/Transylvania to help her mother with a “Creatures of the Night” museum exhibit, she notices how much they look alike and how much they have in common (wearing black, disliking garlic and daylight, etc). One night, she sneaks into the guest bedroom and catches Margo morphing from a bat to a human. This prompts her to research her family, which is how she becomes convinced that Margo is a vampire and so is she.

The book realistically handles the ups and downs of middle school life. From having an argument with her best friend to having her first crush and figuring out more about herself, the author handles it well. I think this book is perfect for younger readers who like spooky stuff that isn’t terrifying.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

