Review of Animal Behavior and Other Tales of Lycanthropy by Keith Gouveia

I won this book in a First Reads giveaway on Goodreads. The book contains 13 stories about werewolves.

I like that the characters varied in each story. From teenagers to older men, from priests to criminals and to those seeking revenge each character is unique. There are also a bunch of different myths presented. There’s the usual one of anyone being bit by a werewolf becoming a werewolf, but various shape-shifter myths are presented as well as some religious ones. I read the book in ne sitting and found each story interesting.

The first two stories had more prominent religious themes and I didn’t like them as much as the rest of the stories, but that’s a personal preference, not a complaint. Only two of the stories were connected (“Mind, Body and Soul” and “Dog Fight”) and I wouldn’t mind reading more about the main character, Jesse. I’d recommend this to anyone who likes werewolves, shape-shifters, short stories or monsters.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

2 thoughts on “Review of Animal Behavior and Other Tales of Lycanthropy by Keith Gouveia”

Leave a Reply

