Review of Breaking Saint Jude by Nikki Godwin

This book was given to me by the author for free in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

I liked the main character, Jude, right away. He’s a gay vegetarian who owns black cats and loves polar bears. When we first meet him, he’s on his way to an lgbt youth support group. He uses the “f-word” a lot (so do some of the other characters) so you might not like the book if that type of thing bothers you. He sees an attractive guy at the support group meeting and nicknames him Eye Candy. After the group he heads over to a church that’s about t be demolished to steal some stained glass. His therapist suggested that he collect glass in the colors of the rainbow and he really wants the red glass from there. As he’s stealing the glass he sees a group of guys hauling a dead giraffe into a truck and recognizes one of them as “Eye Candy” from the group. He’s horrified, yet intrigued, and this sets him off on kind of a crazy adventure. He finds out that “Eye Candy’s” name is Max and they end up dating.

I love the relationship between Jude and Max. It’s sweet, caring and funny. The author does a great job with all of the characters in the book, but the two of them are my favorites. After a few dates, Jude meets the “brotherhood.” They were a little hard to figure out at first, but when I learned why they were doing what they do it all made sense and was sweet in a way.

The major conflict between Max and Jude was predictable but it still worked really well in the story. I felt bad for Jude. He lost his boyfriend and the brotherhood and then suffered another loss a few weeks later. I actually got a little teary eyed over that one. I just wanted to hug him.

I really like how everything was resolved in the book. I think he was finally happy at the end.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

