Review of The Stupid Nerdy Notebook Vol 1-3: The High Five Collection by Chris Garrett

nerdy banner

Book Cover

I was given a free copy of this book as part of a blog tour with Sage’s Blog Tours. All opinions are my own.

I chose this book because I liked the name, the description drew me in and Chris Garrett’s author bio says he “eats pizza and slays dragons.” Awesome!

The book is full of poems written by the author when he was younger. Since we’re the same age, it brought back memories of how I felt back then. The poems range from hopeful to sad to dark. My favorite one is actually the first one in the book, “Beautiful Disaster.” It’s dark, full of heartbreak and has excellent imagery. The other one that I like is “My regards to the mother father train robbery.” It’s very sad and is, unfortunately, about something that happens far too often (parents taking their children’s’ ssi/child support and buying drugs and alcohol).

I like that the handwritten version of the poems are included. It was neat to see what was kept and/or changed. It was like getting to see alternate song lyrics.

I definitely recommend this to anyone who likes great poetry. I would read more from this author.

About the author:  Rising out of Georgia Chris Garrett is a natural dark poet and storyteller delivering nerve pounding stanzas and short stories of angry teens,broken hearts, and moshpits since 2004. Chris is the author of The Stupid Nerdy Notebook series as seen on Amazon.com. When not writing he enjoys eating pizza and slaying dragons.
About the author: Rising out of Georgia Chris Garrett is a natural dark poet and storyteller delivering nerve pounding stanzas and short stories of angry teens, broken hearts, and mosh pits since 2004. Chris is the author of The Stupid Nerdy Notebook series as seen on Amazon.com. When not writing he enjoys eating pizza and slaying dragons.
Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

2 thoughts on “Review of The Stupid Nerdy Notebook Vol 1-3: The High Five Collection by Chris Garrett”

  1. Thank you so much for the honest review! I’m glad you could relate to some of the poems. One of the main reasons I decided to publish was in hopes someone has been or understood where I’ve been. Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

