Review of The Crow: Quoth the Crow by David Bischoff

I picked this up on one of my trips to the thrift shop because it’s set in the “The Crow” universe and the description sounded good.

This is one of the best books that I’ve read so far this year. I gave it 5 stars on Goodreads. The characters, setting, descriptions and writing style are all excellent. I could just picture the characters sitting in Baxter’s goth bar on a dark night in Baltimore. The violence, and there is a lot of if, is justified. It’s not just there for shock value. The Poe reference are neat too.

Each chapter starts with a quote from a poem or short story by Edgar Allan Poe, with “The Raven” and “The Pit and the Pendulum” being used the most. The main character, William Blessing, was a professor, an author and a Poe expert. He quotes various Poe works to his victims before killing them.

I really like the crow itself in this book. He’s a more sarcastic version of the one in the original “The Crow” graphic novel. He serves as a guide and mentor for Blessing. This book also deals with the fact that Blessing is basically a reanimated corpse. It’s very realistic about the complications that would cause.

By the last chapter I was cheering for William and the ending made me smile. It was a great ending and I think it was very well done. I would recommend this to any fans of The Crow, revenge stories and people who love great stories.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

