Review of The Casquette Girls: A Novel by Alys Arden

27189623

This book was amazing! The characters, setting, descriptions and plot are all excellent.  The story starts with Adele and her father returning to New Orleans after The Storm. The opening scene of the book with them driving through the city is so well described that I could picture the destroyed homes and abandoned cars. It really sets the tone for the whole book.
All Adele wants to do is go back to her arts school, see her friends, design clothes and daydream about her Mom’s assistant, Emile and be a normal 15 year old. Unfortunately, her life gets a lot more complicated. Especially once she starts being able to control objects with her mind and unintentionally breaks a centuries old curse.
While trying to learn about her new powers she meets two mysterious brothers, Gabe and Nikko, gets reunited with some of her friends and starts at a new school.  Things start going back to normal for her until she discovers her ancestor’s journal hidden in the floor boards of her bedroom. From there, everything gets a bit crazy.
The story has a bit of everything: magic, telekinesis, voodoo, vampires, shape shifters, plot twists, drag queens, romance, family and friendship. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys fantasy, paranormal, or young adult books.

I got this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

