Review of Braineater Jones by Stephen Kozeniewski

I got this book as a birthday gift from my friend Meghan (Who is also a blogger. Check her out here.) and the author was nice enough to write me a little note in it. Very cool.

1119151217

My first impression was that I loved the cover and description. It fits with the book being set in the 1930’s. The main character, Braineater Jones, has just returned from the dead and he’s trying to figure out what’s going on, where he is, and, most importantly, who he is. He ends up being taken in by a guy named Lazar who teaches him that he need to drink liquor to survive. Unfortunately, Prohibition is still going on.

Jones keeps a journal of everything that’s going on, so the book is written in that style, and he moves into an office about Hallowed Grounds, the speakeasy owned by the Old Man (a fetus in a jar). From there, he starts working as a private investigator for other undead people in a slum called The Mat. Things get more interesting from there.

There are all kinds of things in this book: double crosses, voodoo, 30’s slang, a zombie brothel (where you can literally build your dream girl), corpses in lust (as promised on the cover. And yes, it was “as gross as it sounds”), murders, conspiracies, talking heads, etc. I would go into more detail, but I don’t want to spoil anything.

I like that this is a totally unique take on the living dead. It’s not a virus. It can’t be spread through a bite. Some people just come back. As long as they get enough alcohol, they can function just like a normal person. If not, they turn into a mindless, brain eating monster.

I’d recommend this book to anyone who likes zombies and being entertained.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

