Review of Reckless Gravity by J.D. Myall with Becca Blake

27856981

The prologue of this book is intense and it gets crazier from there. There is a lot of drug use and swearing in this one, so it’s not really suitable for younger teens.

The book follows the main character, Cherrie Lane, as her band, Reckless Gravity, embarks on a huge tour five years after the events in the Prologue. Things are ok at first and she’s still dating Gunner, who we meet in the prologue, only now he’s the singer in the band. She plays guitar and two of their other childhood friends are the drummer and bass player. She has a nice apartment, loves making music, and loves Gunner. Then things start to unravel.

After a tragic bus accident, Cherrie feels lost and a new band member makes her feel good about herself. Unfortunately for her, the friendship between them causes problems between her and Gunner. There’s also a serial killer on the loose.

I felt bad for Cherrie because of how much she had to endure. She’s a great main character though. She tries to be strong for herself and those around her, even when she’s in over her head. I think it was a good depiction of what it’s like to be a girl in a rock band and I like that she’s humble. She cares abut her fans and is really sweet to them.

All of the characters are well written and so is the rest of the story. Some issue the story deals with are domestic violence, rape, mental illness, drinking, drugs, peer pressure, self acceptance, love and friendship. I love the way the book left off and I’ll be reading the next one.

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

