Review of The Plain Janes by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg

313162

Cecil Castellucci is one of my favorite authors so, when I saw this at the thrift shop, I had to get it. I really enjoyed this graphic novel. It shows the positive impact that art can have on people’s lives, that art can heal and art can save.
The book is about a girl named Jane who lived in Metro City with her hair dresser parents until she is injured in a bombing. After she gets out of the hospital they move to Suburbia where they think its safer. At her new school Jane meets some other “social outcasts” and they all happen to have the same name, but spelled differently.  After becoming friends, they start doing random acts of art around town and call themselves P.L.A.I.N. (People Loving Art in Neighborhoods).
I love how the “art attacks” bring the Janes closer together and the effect it has on the town. While the adults don’t get it, the kids embrace it.
I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys graphic novels, art and young adult stories.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

