Fast Food Maniac: From Arby’s to White Castle, One Man’s Supersized Obsession with America’s Favorite Food by Jon Hein

22889780

This book was a fun read. You can tell how much Jon Hein really loves fast food. He rates everything from food and drinks to uniforms and mascots. The book is split into two main sections: National Chains and Regional Chains.
For each restaurant, there is a menu board that tells you when the restaurant was started and where, how many locations they have in the US, their slogan, mascot and what food they’re famous for. He also includes what he thinks the best items to order are and if they have any “secret” items (which are discussed at the end of the book). After that, Hein gives a brief history of each restaurant, what he orders there and his memories of the place. Towards the end of the book he has Top 5 lists for every kind of food (burgers, chicken, pizza, etc) and restaurant items (drive-thrus, straws, uniform, slogan, etc). The last part is the “secret” menu items for each place that has those.
If you enjoy fast food, this book is for you. I liked comparing my favorites with his and learning some “secret” menu items.
I got this book for free from Blogging For Books in exchange for an honest review.

Published by

Tanie's Reviews

I love reading, listening to music, watching wrestling and spending time with my friends and family. I read mostly Young Adult books and I love paranormal books, especially vampire ones. I am originally from Connecticut, but I live in Maryland now. I have a book buying habit and I'm addicted to the book section of my local thrift shop.

Leave a Reply

